Medical Tourism in Malaysia

Unreviewed Written 13 October 2026| 8 sources| The tax guideline’s definition of a healthcare traveller found to include residents, which the statistics never define
Medical Tourism in Malaysia
A private specialist hospital building in Malaysia
A private specialist hospital in Malaysia. One official document defines a healthcare traveller to include expatriates and long-stay residents, a definition the statistics never state. Photograph by Chongkian, CC BY-SA 4.0, via Wikimedia Commons.
Verified against primary record
Tax incentive conditionsHealthcare travellers must be at least 10 per cent of total patients and provide at least 10 per cent of gross income, with registration with the promotion council mandatory[1]
Who counts as a healthcare traveller, for taxNon-citizens visiting for treatment, but also long-stay programme participants and expatriates holding a Malaysian work permit, with dependants[1]
Published figures, 2019More than 1.22 million healthcare travellers and close to 1.7 billion ringgit of revenue, in the council’s own blueprint[2]
AccreditationHospital accreditation is voluntary and run solely by one national society, with the ministry acting as technical secretariat[3]
Independently reported
Current figures1.6 million healthcare travellers and 2.72 billion ringgit for 2024, stated by the health minister and carried by the state news agency[4]
Bands apply only to the rows beneath them. No Malaysian government body publishes a dated, downloadable dataset of foreign-patient counts, and no published definition of the statistical counting unit was located.

Medical tourism in Malaysia is promoted by a government-linked council chaired by the health minister, and its figures are the most widely quoted in Southeast Asia. They are also published without a definition of what is being counted, and one official document suggests the definition may include people already living in the country.

The figures, and where they come from

The promotion council’s own 2021 blueprint is the only published historical series located. It states that 2019 saw more than 1.22 million healthcare travellers and close to 1.7 billion ringgit of revenue, with a compound annual growth rate of 16.3 per cent between 2015 and 2019, and that 2020 revenue fell below 800 million ringgit. It records 73 council members out of 291 private healthcare facilities as at September 2021, and sets revenue scenarios for 2025 of 2.0 billion ringgit optimistic, 1.7 billion projected and 1.5 billion pessimistic.[2]

More recent figures reach the public only through official statements rather than datasets. A government investment agency’s news page of 4 August 2024 relays 2023 revenue of 2.25 billion ringgit, more than one million health tourist arrivals in 2023 against 850,000 in 2022, and 584,468 arrivals with 954.90 million ringgit of revenue in the first half of 2024.[5] The most recent figures located are a statement by the health minister, who also chairs the council, of 1.6 million healthcare travellers in 2024 and 2.72 billion ringgit of revenue, a 21 per cent rise on 2023, carried by the national news agency on 24 July 2025.[4]

Two problems attach to the series. The council publishes no annual statistical report: its public reports section holds the 2021 blueprint and nothing else.[6] And the figures are internally inconsistent in a way nothing published resolves. Implied revenue per healthcare traveller moves from about 1,390 ringgit in 2019 to about 2,250 in 2023 and back to about 1,700 in 2024, while the traveller count rises from more than one million in 2023 to 1.6 million in 2024, roughly 60 per cent, against a 21 per cent revenue rise. Either the counting unit changed between statements or one of the figures is not comparable.

The national statistical office does not corroborate the revenue. Its tourism satellite account for 2025 splits inbound expenditure only between tourists and same-day visitors, and does not isolate health or medical tourism; health appears only as an illustrative example inside a broader value-added grouping.[7]

The definition problem, stated precisely

One official document does define a healthcare traveller, for a different purpose, and the definition is broader than the phrase suggests. The investment authority’s guideline on the tax incentive for promoting healthcare travel defines healthcare travellers as including non-citizens under the country’s long-stay residence programme and their dependants, expatriates holding a Malaysian work permit and their dependants, and non-citizens visiting Malaysia for treatment.[1] That is a resident-inclusive definition. Whether the council’s statistical healthcare travellers use the same boundary is not published anywhere located, and it is the single most important unresolved question about the Malaysian figures: if the statistics use the tax definition, a substantial share of the count may be people who live in Malaysia.

The incentive, in detail

The incentive itself is the most precisely documented element of Malaysian policy. It is an income tax exemption equivalent to a full investment tax allowance on qualifying capital expenditure incurred within five years, offsettable against all of statutory income annually with unused allowance carried forward, granted by exemption order and approved by a national investment committee, for applications received between 1 January 2021 and 31 December 2022. Two conditions apply per year of assessment: healthcare travellers must be at least 10 per cent of total patients, and at least 10 per cent of gross income must come from healthcare travellers, to be met no later than the third year of assessment after operations begin. Registration with the promotion council as a healthcare facility for the promotion of healthcare travel is mandatory.[1]

Regulation, accreditation and what the council does not publish

Individual practitioners are regulated under the Medical Act 1971, which received royal assent on 27 September 1971. Practising medicine requires full registration in the national medical register maintained by a registrar who is the director general of health; a current annual practising certificate is required, with an application deadline of 31 December and proof of professional indemnity; and practising as a specialist requires registration in that specialty. The medical council is constituted with 33 members presided over by the director general.[8]

Hospital accreditation is voluntary and is run solely by one national society for quality in health, with the health ministry acting as technical secretariat and promoter; the ministry’s own quality portal states this and does not publish a count of accredited facilities.[3] No official count of accredited Malaysian hospitals was obtained during this work.

The promotion council publishes no membership or eligibility criteria. Its about page claims more than 80 partner hospitals and clinics, described as verified and trusted, and patients from 120 countries and territories, but lists no criteria a hospital must meet to join. The same page does not state the council’s founding year or its legal form; what is establishable from the page itself is a company registration number whose prefix indicates registration in 2011, and a board chaired by the health minister with the ministry’s secretary general and director general of health and the tourism ministry’s secretary general as members.[6] The commonly repeated claim that the council was established in 2009 under the health ministry is not supported by anything on its own site, and is not stated here.

What is not verifiable

Four claims circulate that do not survive checking. The council’s 2009 founding, addressed above. The traveller count series, each link of which is a press relay of a council figure with no dataset, no published definition and no methodology. Modelled spillover figures stated by officials, for which no published model was located, and which are therefore not measured values. And figures carried by commercial data repackagers, which restate the same press figures and are not independent sources.

No official safety or travel warning bearing specifically on medical travel to Malaysia was found in the current travel health notices of the body that issues such notices for the largest outbound market.

See also

References

  1. Malaysian Investment Development Authority. Guideline on application for tax incentive for the promotion of healthcare travel. Guideline dated 6 May 2021. Verified against primary record: the guideline was opened and the form of the incentive, the application window, the two annual conditions, the mandatory registration requirement and the definition of a healthcare traveller read. Retrieved 13 October 2026.
  2. Malaysia Healthcare Travel Council. Malaysia Healthcare Travel Industry Blueprint 2021-2025. Copyright 2021; membership data stated as at September 2021. Verified against primary record: the blueprint was opened and the 2019 and 2020 figures, the growth rate, the membership counts and the 2025 revenue scenarios read. The document uses the terms healthcare travellers and healthcare travel revenue without defining the counting unit. Retrieved 13 October 2026.
  3. Ministry of Health Malaysia. Overview: accreditation. Hospital accreditation described as in place since 1998; no other date. Verified against primary record: the page was opened and the sole accrediting body, the voluntary nature of accreditation and the ministry’s secretariat role read. The page does not state how many facilities are accredited. Retrieved 13 October 2026.
  4. BERNAMA. MYMT 2026 to boost Malaysia’s position in global medical tourism. 24 July 2025. Independently reported: the item was opened and the health minister’s stated figures for 2024 read. This is a national news agency report of a ministerial statement; no corresponding council or ministry release was located. Retrieved 13 October 2026.
  5. Malaysian Investment Development Authority. Malaysia sets sight on emerging as leading healthcare destination by 2025. 4 August 2024. Independently reported: the page was opened and the 2022, 2023 and first-half 2024 figures read. The page relays figures attributed to the promotion council and uses the word arrivals rather than patients. Retrieved 13 October 2026.
  6. Malaysia Healthcare Travel Council. About the council, with its reports and statistics listing. Listing dated 24 August 2026; about page undated. Verified against primary record: both pages were opened and the partner and country claims, the absence of any membership or eligibility criteria, the absence of a stated founding year or legal form, the company registration number, the board composition, and the single document in the public reports section read. Retrieved 13 October 2026.
  7. Department of Statistics Malaysia. Tourism Satellite Account 2025. Released 15 September 2026, reference year 2025. Verified against primary record: the release was opened and the inbound expenditure total, its split between tourists and same-day visitors and the absence of any health or medical tourism category read. Retrieved 13 October 2026.
  8. Parliament of Malaysia. Medical Act 1971 (Act 50). Royal assent 27 September 1971; reprint as at 1 March 2019. Verified against primary record: the Act was opened and the registration requirement, the annual practising certificate provisions, the specialist registration bar and the composition of the council read. Retrieved 13 October 2026.

Sourcing note: the current Malaysian figures rest on a ministerial statement relayed by the national news agency, with no corresponding dataset, methodology note or definition of the counting unit located, and they are placed in the independently reported band for that reason. The Private Healthcare Facilities and Services Act 1998 is named in Malaysian regulatory material but its official text could not be opened during this work, so no section of it is cited and no count of licensed facilities is given. The promotion council’s founding year is stated only as what its own registration number indicates.